Caroline Wozniacki was the last mother to return to the circuit three years after her retirement

Caroline WozniackiThe now 32-year-old stopped competing on the professional circuit three years ago due to rheumatoid arthritis.

The former world number one and champion of 30 titles including the 2018 Australian Open was quick to become a mother. They had two children before, Olivia and James.

Wozniacki, who had remained in shape, admitted that she had not given up tennis. Everything changed this season, especially after seeing how Elina Svitolina returned to the WTA just six months after giving birth to a girl child from her relationship with fellow tennis player Gael Monfils., The Ukrainian qualified for the Wimbledon semifinals in July after beating number one Inga Swiatek.

,I want to show my kids that dreams can come true. Of course I see myself with options to win big and it motivates me to join the Paris Gamesadmitted Caroline, currently ranked 627 and who will play the US Open by invitation.

They were also awarded wild cards to be first in Montreal and Cincinnati. Prior to Svitolina, Serena Williams was the last mother to return to the slopes, although she did not achieve her goal of extending her Grand Slam record., There are also other iconic names in that club of champions, such as Victoria Azarenka and Kim Clijsters.

champion moms

In 2009, Clijsters became the first winning mother of a ‘major’ in 29 years. Interestingly, Kim did this after defeating Wozniacki 7-5, 6-3 in the final. A year later, she would re-validate the crown by defeating Russian Zvonareva. In 2011, he was also victorious in the Australian Open.

The last example was Evonne Goolagiong at Wimbledon 1980. Margaret Court was the last mother to be crowned on the New York slopes in 1973,

Currently, the circle of young mothers has narrowed. Wozniacki has also joined this list Svitolina, Azarenka, Tatjana Maria, Yanina Wickmayer and Taylor Townside,

Champion of ‘Grand Slam’ after becoming a mother

Margaret Court Australian Open, Roland Garros, US Open 1973

Evonne Goolagiong Wimbledon 1980

Kim Clijsters US Open 2009

Kim Siegesters US Open 2010

Kim Clijsters Australian Open 2011


Source link

Leave a Comment