Colombian Cristina Gallego, among those invited to vote at the Oscars – Cinema and Tv – Culture

Latinas Ariana DeBose and Anya Taylor-Joy were invited to be part of the Hollywood Academy, the institution that annually votes for the Oscars, along with 397 people from 53 countries.

Among the list of personalities who have received the invitation to join the ranks of the institution, the 44% are women, 37% identify with minority groups and 50% are professionals from outside the United States, the institution said in a statement.

However, joining the Academy is not automatic, since professionals (including directors, actors, producers and technicians) will have to accept the call of their corresponding guild.

Among Latinos, in addition to DeBose, of Puerto Rican origin and winner of an Oscar for ‘West Side Story’; and Anya Taylor-Joy, who has Argentine nationality, there are also Robin de Jesús, of Puerto Rican origin, Olga Merediz, born in Cuba, and Marco Rodríguez.

Likewise, the Spaniards Alberto Mielgo and Leo Sánchez, winners of the Oscar for best animated short for ‘The Windshield Wiper’; Chilean Hugo Covarrubias, candidate for the same award for ‘Bestia’ and Colombian producer Cristina Gallego (Embrace of the Serpent, Summer Birds).

The Spanish filmmaker Mariano Barroso, current president of the Spanish Academy of Cinematographic Arts and Sciences, also appears on the list of people who will be able to vote in the next Oscars.

(You may want to read: Do you want to see Banksy’s work? We tell you how much it costs to go to his exhibition)

Among the popular names of Hollywood invited by the Academy are Troy Kotsur, brand new winner of the statuette for best supporting actor for ‘Coda’ and Frenchman Vincent Lindon, star of the controversial ‘Titane’. Billie Eilish and her brother Finneas will also be able to join the music department of the institution.

(You may be interested: Pedro Almodóvar will direct a cowboy film in the US.)

With the new income, the Hollywood Academy will be close to 10,000 members. In January 2016, the institution announced a series of changes with the aim of doubling the number of women and people of diverse origins among its ranks, in order to placate criticism for the lack of diversity in the Oscar voting. Pedro Pascal, Alice Braga, Ricardo Darín, Javier Cámara, Daniela Vega, Carmen Maura, Carlos Bardem, Natalia De Molina and Rossy De Palma are some of the professionals who have joined the Academy in recent years.


Source link

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Back to top button