David Cronenberg will receive the Donostia Award at the 70th San Sebastian Festival

Canadian director David Cronenberg will receive one of the Donostia awards that the San Sebastián Film Festival (northern Spain) will award in its 70th edition, which will be held from September 16 to 24.

Cronenberg (Toronto, 1943) thus joins the French actress Juliette Binoche, whose name as winner of the next edition of the contest was already announced on May 13.

The filmmaker, “one of the most unique of the last half century”, according to the organization in a note, will collect the highest honorary distinction of the San Sebastian Festival on September 21 at the Victoria Eugenia theater.

It will be at a ceremony after which his latest work, “Crimes of the future”, starring Viggo Mortensen, Léa Seydoux and Kristen Stewart, which competed at the last Cannes Festival, will be screened.

«Master of biological horror, of disturbing atmospheres and of a universe as personal as it is non-transferable, Cronenberg has directed twenty feature films, including works that have become classics in genres such as science fiction, horror, psychological drama or ‘ thrillers’. He is also the author of numerous works for television », underlines the organization in a statement.

Cronenberg visited the San Sebastian Festival once, in 2007, when “Promesas del Este” opened the Official Selection, three years after the screening of another of his titles, “Crash”, from 1996, as part of the retrospective [email protected]

This self-taught filmmaker, also screenwriter and actor, thus joins the list of directors who have received the Donostia Award, including Francis Ford Coppola, Woody Allen, Oliver Stone, Agnès Varda, Hirokazu Koreeda and Costa-Gavras.

The festival says that Cronenberg, the son of a pianist and a writer, “grew up among books and comics that cemented his interest in culture and cinema.”

It began with short films such as “Transfer” (1966) and “From the drain” (1967), which were followed by the experimental feature films “Stereo” (1969) and “Crimes of the future” (1970). The title of the latter coincides with that of his most recent film.

The titles that forged his prestige as an author within the most radical genre cinema were “Scanners” (1981), about a group of people with deadly mental powers, and “Videodrome” (1983), one of the pinnacles of film aesthetics. New Meat. He later filmed “The Fly” (1986), “Inseparable” (1988) and “M. Butterfly» (1993), the last two with Jeremy Irons.

Cronenberg has brought to the screen novels by such iconic writers as Stephen King -“The Dead Zone” (1983)-, William Burroughs -“Naked Lunch” (1991)- and JG Ballard, whom he adapted in “Crash”, with which won the Special Jury Prize at Cannes.

After «eXistenZ» (1999) and «Spider» (2002), the Canadian filmmaker inaugurated a stage in his filmography in which the fantastic stopped being the main ingredient of his cinema. Now, with “Crimes of the future”, he has made a review or compendium of his old obsessions and has counted for the fourth time with the actor Viggo Mortensen, with whom he has worked in “A History of Violence” (2005), “Eastern Promises” and “A Dangerous Method” (2011). EFE

Source link

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Back to top button