Leagues Cup 2023, this is how the groups were made up

The Leagues Cup trophy
The Leagues Cup trophy

The MX League returned a couple of weeks ago with the start of the Clausura 2023 tournament. So far, three days have been played, where teams like Tigres and Monterrey have started in a good way, because both sets are in the first places of the general table.

While other teams like the Club América and Cruz Azul have not stood out as everyone expected. The Eagles have yet to win so far this season, but they haven’t lost either. While the Machine has not only not won, but has already accumulated two consecutive defeats.

More news from Liga MX:

Potro does not win with Cruz Azul and throws a dart against the fans

After the boos in Rayados, Vucetich’s message to the fans

But in the midst of the local tournament dispute, information was released about the little international activity that Mexican soccer teams have. In this case, it is the Leagues Cup, the friendly/official tournament that is played between the teams of the Liga MX and the MLS.

This is how the groups of the Legues Cup remained

This is how the distribution of the groups was

As has been known for a long time, this year the Leagues Cup will return, the controversial tournament that was created for teams from Mexico and the United States to play. It will be the third edition of the championship, but it will be the largest that has been held so far. The group stage was as follows:

West 1: UANL Tigers, Portland Timbers and San Jose Earthquakes.
West 2: Monterrey, Real Salt Lake and Seattle Sounders.
West 3: LA Galaxy, León and Vancouver Whitecaps.

Center 1: Club America, Columbus Crew and St. Louis City.
Center 2: Puebla, Minnesota United and Chicago Fire.
Center 3: Chivas, FC Cincinnati and Sporting Kansas City.
Center 4: Nashville FC, Toluca and Colorado Rapids.

South 1: Austin FC, Mazatlán FC and FC Juárez.
South 2: Santos, Orlando City and Houston Dynamo.
South 3: Cruz Azul, Inter Miami and Atlanta United.
South 4: FC Dallas, Necaxa and Charlotte FC.

East 1: Philadelphia Union, Tijuana and Querétaro.
East 2: CF Montreal, Pumas UNAM and DC United.
East 3: New York City FC, Atlas and Toronto FC.
East 4: New York Red Bulls, Atlético de San Luis and New England Revolution.

Added to that, Pachuca and LAFC already have their pass to the Round of 16, one for being the current champion of Mexico, while the other got it for having been the team that scored the most points in the United States. As can be seen, in almost all the groups there are two teams from the United States and only one from Mexico, with the exception of South 1 and East 1, where the roles are reversed.

When is the Leagues Cup played?

Pachuca and LAFC avoided the group stage

The binational tournament will begin on July 21 and end on August 19. As expected, all commitments will be played in the United States and Canada. The format is that the teams will face their respective group rivals, and the first place will advance to the next round, where the Tuzos and Carlos Vela are already with their team. It should be remembered that in an attempt to give importance to the competition, the winner of the tournament will get a ticket to the next edition of the League of CONCACAF Champions.

Therefore, Mexico or the United States could have one more representative in the tournament. It should be remembered that the two editions that have been played so far, both were won by teams from the Liga MX.

In the first edition of 2019, Cruz Azul was crowned after defeating the UANL Tigres 2-1 in the Final. While the second was conquered by the León, the squad that beat the Seattle Sounders 3-2 in the Final.

Source link

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button