Shakira, Karol G nominated at 2023 MTV VMAs – Telemundo 52

The MTV Video Music Awards (VMAs) are back this Tuesday night and for the first time ever, only women are nominated in the Artist of the Year category. Taylor Swift, Beyoncé, Doja Cat, Nicki Minaj, Karol G and Shakira are candidates for the top prize.

VMA presenters include A Boogie wit da Hoodie, Anuel AA, Ashanti, Billy Porter, Chloe Bailey, Dove Cameron, Fat Joe, Halle Bailey, Nelly Furtado, Renee Rapp, Saweetie, Shenseea, Thalía, Tiffany Haddish, Timbaland and Wyclef Jean .

Minaj will host the VMAs, which will be held at the Prudential Center in Newark, New Jersey, just outside New York City. In 2022, she was the MC with Lil Wayne and Jack Harlow, this year she is solo.

The show will also celebrate 50 years of hip hop with a cross-generational, star-studded performance featuring: DMC, Doug E. Fresh, Grandmaster Flash and the Furious Five, LL Cool J and Minaj.

The VMAs will begin at 8pm ET/7pm CT and will air on MTV, BET, BET Her, CMT, Comedy Central, Logo, MTV2, Nickelodeon, Paramount Network, Pop, TVland and VH1. The program can also be seen in Spanish on UniMás.

Swift has increased her number of nominations to 11 after MTV announced four additional categories in early September, including seven nominations for her “Anti-Hero” music video. SZA is in second place with eight. Swift currently has 14 VMAs, putting her behind Beyoncé, who has 28 (including two with Destiny’s Child), Madonna who has 20, and Lady Gaga who has 19.

To see more from Telemundo, visit

This year features a record number of first-time nominees: 35, including Kim Petras, who has five nominations, Metro Boomin’, who has four nominations, and Rema, who has three nominations. Espa, Burna Boy, Davido, Eslabon Armado, Fifty Fifty, Pinkpantheres, Saucy Santana, Stephen Sanchez and Toosie are also nominated for the first time.

Special award for Shakira

Shakira will receive the Video Vanguard Award and the Colombian star is also expected to receive a musical number. She joins a list of honorees that includes Beyoncé, Nicki Minaj, Madonna, Janet Jackson, Jennifer Lopez, Rihanna and Missy Elliott.

Diddy will receive the Global Icon Award and will perform at the VMAs for the first time since 2005. He will become the third winner of the award, following Red Hot Chili Peppers in 2022 and Foo Fighters in 2021.

Other artists attending the ceremony include Cardi B and Megan Thee Stallion (for their new collaboration, “Bongos”), Anita, Demi Lovato, Fall Out Boy, Peso Pluma, Doja Cat, Karol G, Kelsea Ballerini, Menskin, Olivia . Rodrigo, Stray Kids, Manana x Juntos and more.

(TagstoTranslate)Karol G(T)Music(T)Shakira

Source link

Leave a Comment