Spain’s Aitana Bonmati adds FIFA The Best to her collection of awards

LONDON – Barcelona and Spain midfielder Aitana Bonmati cemented her place at the pinnacle of women’s football on Monday by winning the FIFA Women’s Team of the Year award and the Women’s Ballon d’Or.

Bonmati had a record-breaking season with his club, in which he helped Barca win Ligue F on the back of a two-year unbeaten run that ended on the final day of the season, and then led Spain to their first European title. Cup.

She was named Australia and New Zealand Player of the Tournament and UEFA Player of the Year.

“I will remember this year for the rest of my life,” Bonmati said on stage in London. “I am indebted to all the teams I belonged to: Barça and the national team for the season we had.

“I am eternally grateful to all the people who accompanied me along this path.

“I would like to say that I am proud of this generation of women who are changing the rules of the game.”

The other two nominees for Monday’s award were Linda Caicedo of Real Madrid, who had an outstanding World Cup with Colombia, and Jenny Hermoso of Tigres UANL, who played for Bonmati in Spain and started the MeToo movement in the country because of behavior of the Spanish national team. Federation President Luis Rubiales.

The Bonmati award continues Barca’s dominance among women, with midfielder Alexia Putellas winning the award in 2021 and 2022, although she has only played a handful of games in the past 12 months due to an anterior cruciate ligament injury.

The award deadline was between 19 December 2022 and 20 August 2023, the day of the Women’s World Cup final.

FIFA said the three nominees for the award were drawn up in collaboration with “football-interested players” and the shortlists were determined by two separate panels made up of former players and coaches. Then the winners of the award were voted on among journalists, fans, captains of national teams and managers.

Earlier at Monday’s ceremony, Lionel Messi received his third men’s FIFA the Best award.

Full list of women’s awards

Puskás Prize: Guilherme Madruga (Botafogo SP)

Women’s Coach of the Year: Sarina Wigman

Goalkeeper of the Year: Mary Earps (Manchester United)

XI Women’s World Championship:

Portessa: Earps (Manchester United)

Protection: Olga Carmona (Real Madrid), Lucy Bronze (Barcelona), Alex Greenwood (Manchester City)

Midfielder: Keira Walsh (Manchester City), Alessia Russo (Arsenal), Lauren James (Chelsea), Ella Toon (Manchester United), Aitana Bonmati (Barcelona)

Iron: Alex Morgan (San Diego Wave), Sam Kerr (Chelsea)

FIFA Fair Play Award: absolute players from Brazil

FIFA Fan Award: Hugo Miguel Iniguez

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button